The View From Here

I turned 40 on Tuesday.

40. That’s 10 more than 30. 20 more than 20. Halfway to 80. Forty. Four-oh.

When I was 20, I knew everything. By the time I hit 30, I realized I knew nothing. Now that I’ve hit 40, I’m aware of what I don’t know, but I’m also aware of some things I’ve picked up along the way. Here they are, in no particular order.

1. I hate lipstick. I’ve never found one I like. Not one. Not a color, not a brand, none. It bothers me, and I tend to chew it off anyway. So I won’t be wearing it.

2. Life is about choices. Good ones, bad ones … they’ve all gotten me to exactly where I am now. I’ve got %#^@#!% pounds to lose; guess what? My choice. I’ve got a great marriage. My choice. Good friends. My choice. Obviously, I’m aware of extenuating circumstances; but for the most part, my choices have been uniquely designed, by me, to get me to wherever I am, right now. Which leads me to–

3. Wherever you are, there you are. Cliche, I know, but true. I am where I choose to go, with all the baggage I carry with me. I can try to change things by manipulating my environment, my behavior, others around me–and believe me, I’ve tried. I’ve messed with the external to the point of ridiculousness. But until I’m willing to work on the ‘me’ (the real me) behind those things, again, I’m wherever I take me.

4. I don’t like sushi. Oh, well. There went my Klout score.

5. I’m not very domestic. I make a mean lasagna, and I’ve managed not to burn the house down. Yet.

6. My husband loves me. Hang with me for a minute. This is huge. It wasn’t easy for me to learn; not because he didn’t show me or tell me (he’s the most amazing guy on the planet), but because my own wounds wouldn’t let me see myself as lovable. After much healing (MUCH healing), I now know I’m pretty dang lovable.

7. I’m not a Republican. Oh, well. There went half my Facebook friends.

8. Chips and queso are my kryptonite. You want to weaken me so you can take over the world? Put tortilla chips and a bowl of yummy, melted cheese in front of me. Done and done.

9. Coffee is the secret to my success. There. Now you have it too.

And finally,

10. I am truly, immeasurably, and overwhelmingly blessed. I am daily reminded of this: when I kiss my son goodbye in the morning, when I hug my girls (even though they’re taller than me), when my Facebook page lists several hundred birthday wishes, when I sit down to work at something I love passionately, when I have too many friends and not enough time to spend with all of them. When I lie down at night next to the love of my life and know I am the love of his.

When I walk unhindered into the presence of the One who loves me more passionately than I can imagine, who intentionally knit me together just the way He wanted me, and who has plans to prosper me and give me a hope and a future–and know I am His.

The view from here is pretty darn good. I think I like it.

20 comments so far

  1. josephlouthan on

    In response to #7, a song submitted for your approval: “You Are Not Alone” by Michael Jackson.

  2. Alan Smith (@AlanSmithOnline) on

    1. I’m glad you don’t wear lipstick. It gets in the way of one of my favorite pass times.
    2. Choosing you was the second best choice I ever made.
    3. I’m with you. That’s where I am.
    4. I don’t like it either. How does that affect your score?
    5. Thank you for not burning the house down, and for the wonderful lasagna, and for other things you cook up in other parts of the house.
    6. Yes. I do. Yes. You are.
    7. I’m just thankful you’re not a Democrat either. You’re not, are you?
    8. If you’re going to have a vice…
    9. If you’re going to have another vice…
    10. You are rich and you enrich us all.

  3. marissastar on

    I LOVE you Nancy!!! You just made me laugh at loud. I love that you are comfortable in your skin, it’s one of my fav. things about you. Annnddd, ok 7 from both you and Alan made me chuckle … I like a little mystery in my friendships, so I won’t ask you;)

    With Great Love from Israel! πŸ˜‰
    ~Ris

  4. CV on

    @ Alan: and what was the first best choice?
    @ Nancy: always loved you, always will, with lumps and bumps and whatever’s going on.

  5. Alan Smith (@AlanSmithOnline) on

    Clare – The best choice I ever made was to surrender to Jesus, exchanging my disconnected from God, self-reliant existence for the identity I was created for as God’s adopted son.

  6. Ineffable Jeff on

    Forty. 40. Four Oh. It’s not pretty. Let’s not even pretend that. We can be happy that our age does not define us. And that we are another year closer to cheap breakfasts at Denny’s

  7. Kitchen and Kids on

    I love your list, and 40 is the new 30 with way more wisdom. You need to start a forty and fabulous club.

  8. Juliana Hanbridge on

    I with you on the lipstick thing! However that republican commnet going to warrent an intervention! LOL!

  9. Michael Caney (@MichaelCaney) on

    I dig both 8 and 9. Just don’t enjoy them together. That might not end well.

  10. Marci Harper on

    Forty and Fabulous–welcome to the club!

  11. Cheri Cochran (@chericochran) on

    I love Nancy!!!! I also hate sushi, and have a love/hate relationship with lipstick, and am not particularly domestic, as we have discussed. This must be why we’re friends. I’ll join you for chips, salsa and coffee any day. Love you so much!

  12. Jennifer Stracener on

    And that right there is why I like you!!!

  13. Amy Pennington on

    Love you Nancy!!!! This post made me smile, knowing that you are who you are…no nonsense Nancy! You are seriously such a fabulous friend!! Glad I get to hang with you every now and again!!! hugs!

  14. Emily in Guate on

    You know…I hated the whole idea of sushi until a friend took us to Axiom Restaurant in Dallas. You might want to check it out before you totally close the door on that idea lol…great blog, chica. πŸ™‚ I always love your perspectives on life and freedom in Christ.

  15. Heidi on

    Nancy – don’t know where you ever got the idea you were not lovable darlin but you always were and still are! 40 is a great age – have 10 months practice at it and it is really fun! Shook off all the foibles of the 30s and realized that other people’s opinions of me really don’t matter and aren’t my business – best lesson I ever learned. Keep goin Nancy – lets see what 41 brings! oh, and there is nothing wrong with nachos and coffee – even if you’re not a republican! πŸ™‚ Hugs! Miss you! Need more anti-lipstick gals here in NY!

  16. Sherry Floyd on

    Adore this! Happy Birthday, raising a glass to you and your FABULOUS year that is ahead!!! Can’t wait to see where it goes! Love and hugs to you sweet friend! Love your list!

  17. Crista on

    This is the best ’40-list’ EVER! Love how you’re ownin’ who you are. You’re rockin’ it, sistah, and I like you! πŸ™‚ Happy four-oh!!!

    …and I’m praying for you about the sushi thing.

  18. Bonnie Billingsley on

    I love you!!! You are awesome! When I grow up wanna be just like you, ok maybe. But I love lipstick and sushi! And yes and Amen on chips and salsa for me (piping hot) and coffee! All at the same time even! You crack me up and my life would so not be as great with out you! Love you!!!

  19. Becky S on

    Enjoyed your post. Enjoying getting to know you more, even if it was via your blog! I loved the 40s, I entered my 50s not too long ago. I didn’t even start drinking coffee until my 40s. We’ll have to go out sometime and share a coffee. Coffee is definitely up there. πŸ™‚ Glad to know you are having such a fun time celebrating your special day, over and over.

  20. Janene Casey on

    So refreshing to read your post this morning! Nancy, you are delightful! Just wanted to tell you I still love you so! May not see you as often, but you are dear to me!!!!! Keep blogging!


Leave a Reply

